top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSravya Datla

Chorus Game Project

Updated: May 4, 2018

Animating for games is something that I am also highly interested in so I felt it would be useful to have game cycles in my show-reel if I wanted to apply for the games industry.


I am working on a game project called Chorus which features 3 robots interacting with the environment through sounds. There is the main player robot(which is quite fluid and flexible in its movements), a small robot( that moves quite stiff and is there to assist the player robot with puzzles etc) and a big robot( who is slow and strong in movement but aids the player character in lifting heavy gates and opening doors).


I am in charge of animating the small robot so I thought it'd be good for me to do some concept sketches and research of the small robot so I can get a feel for his character more. The character details I have been given by the game students is that they imagined the small robot to have a 'man on a mission' and straightforward personality as well as being impatient.


Below is some of my very early sketches :




The game students wanted the robot to have a camera shaped head so i experimented with some designs.
Robot Head Concepts

I have taken bits of concept from my initial sketches to finalise two designs for the humanoid small robot. I also thought it would be an interesting feature to add an antennae to the design. Having the antennae move in animation gives it an interesting and detailed touch.


Final Design 1

I personally really like this design and colours but feel its more on the cute side than a robot who is more of a 'man on a mission' type character.


Final Design 2

I feel this design suits the personality more of the small robot but the colours seem a little too similar to iron man's costume.


Overall, I am quite happy with how they have turned out and the lead artist mentioned that she will integrate some of these ideas into the final design.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page