top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSravya Datla

I want to leave!


Doodle of Ian

I am looking to have a very cartoon style performance animation for my showreel as I haven't experimented too much with this style yet. Therefore, I thought it would be good for me to have a piece like this for my collaboration project. A mini short film project proposal called 'I want to leave' caught my attention immediately as its quite comedic and fast-paced.


'I want to leave' features a lazy and careless alien called 'Ian' (mind the pun!) who is travelling through space in his messy UFO and whilst taking a nap, he doesn't realise that the spaceship is about to crash into Earth before it is too late. Once he does notice, he begins to panic and tries to steer the UFO away from its terrible fate but fails to do so. Just before the UFO crashes into Earth, Ian gets ejected out of his UFO and lands roughly onto the ground. He then encounters a cow who steals his laser gun and swallows it whole. The end of the short features Ian running away from this cow chasing him whilst sneezing lasers at him.


I feel this project is quite refreshing from the other longer projects I am working on. When it came to choosing the scenes for this project, I chose to do the shots when Ian is panicking in the spaceship smashing buttons and pulling the UFO joystick resulting in breaking it as a lot of emotion is shown in these shots, so I found it to be the perfect opportunity to try out exaggerated expressions and movements that you find in cartoon style animations.


Since I also want to be a rigger alongside being an animator, I have taken on the responsibility of rigging Ian. I have also been appointed as lead animator and rigger for this project so it gives me an opportunity to practice my leadership skills.


I will be posting updates on my progress for this project. So stay tuned!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page